You are currently visiting our Basic Site. This site is used for low-bandwidth connections, mobile devices and alternative browsers.
To restore the graphics and layout, return to the Standard Site.

Skip Navigation


eProcurement

How to do Business with Canada Post

Contents

It is the policy of Canada Post Corporation to compete fairly, ensure its marketing and competitive practices respond to customer needs, and comply with all applicable legislation.

Purchasing Philosophy

Our objectives as a major Canadian corporation are clear; provide the most reliable, affordable and accessible mail service to the Canadian public. Our purchasing policy is equally straightforward - it is rooted in the belief that the more a supplier understands Canada Post's business and buying policies, the more effective they will be in contributing to the corporate objectives.

We recognize the vital role suppliers play in our operations and have learned that mutual reliance and respect form the basis of an excellent relationship.

Buying Practices

It is the policy of Canada Post Corporation to contract for goods and services with the objective of attaining the best overall value. Canada Post contracts with those suppliers who satisfy the Corporation's objectives of obtaining quality goods and services in a timely manner and meeting the specifications and have competitive prices.

In so doing, the Corporation, as a matter of principle, conducts its expenditure contracting activities with due regard to applicable laws, regulations, international agreements and conventions, internal policies and competitive tendering processes. Canada Post does this in such a way as to convey its high standards of professionalism and business ethics to the external community.

Throughout the procurement and expenditure contracting process, Canada Post:

  1. Will establish and maintain productive business relationships with suppliers who share the Corporation's commitment to provide quality products and services to its customers, and who reflect their commitment to excellence through their business relations with Canada Post; and
  2. Will demonstrate the value the corporation places on such business relations with its suppliers by visibly continuing its commitment to professional and ethical conduct in all aspects of its procurement activities.

As a Crown Corporation, Canada Post's procurement, where applicable, is conducted with due regard to the requirements of the North American Free Trade Agreement (NAFTA) and the Agreement on Internal Trade (AIT). Purchases subject to the NAFTA and AIT Agreements are published via MERX. Bid packages for procurements subject to NAFTA and AIT must be ordered through MERX and for Transportation Contracting Services, see details provided under Business Opportunities for Transportation Contracting Services.

Sourcing Suppliers

For purchases not subject to NAFTA, requests may be published on MERX or suppliers may be identified from past experience with CPC, industry directories, Internet, industry and associated information sources including catalogues and journals, trade shows and conferences.

Tender Opening

Canada Post does not open tenders in public, nor do we reveal any information contained in the responses to our requirements, except as required by NAFTA or otherwise by law. We firmly believe this would have an impact on CPC's ability to conduct business in a fair and competitive bidding environment.

Issuance of Contract

In general, all contracts are issued by Canada Post Sourcing Management following the formal evaluation process. One or more suppliers who best fits our overall needs will be invited to enter into negotiations, which may lead to the formulation of a formal contract.

End users are not authorized to enter into agreements with suppliers. Suppliers are not to supply goods or services before a purchase order/contract is in place, and they should not perform work beyond the scope of the existing contract.

Conclusion

The Canada Post Sourcing Management sincerely values the special relationship that exists between Canada Post and its suppliers. In particular, we welcome any initiatives that contribute to increased productivity and good purchasing management. We are always willing to discuss developments, improved performance or lower costs if these help us meet our objective of reliable, cost-effective services to the Canadian public.

Contacts relating to the tendering process:

For information on NAFTA:
Foreign Affairs & International Trade Canada
Inquiry Service
Lester B. Pearson Building
125 Sussex Dr.
Ottawa ON K1A 0G2
Telephone: 1-800-267-8376
Ottawa only: 944-4000

MERX (Internet based system):
For more information or to subscribe, call:
1-800-964-6379 between 8am to 6pm Eastern standard time (Monday to Friday)
Fax: 1-888-235-5800.

Vous consultez actuellement notre site de base. Ce site est conçu pour les connexions à bande passante étroite, les appareils mobiles et d'autres navigateurs.
Pour réafficher les graphiques et retourner au mode d'affichage standard, cliquez sur l'option Site standard.

Sauter la navigation


Le Cyberapprovisionnement

Comment faire affaire avec Postes Canada

Sommaire

La Société canadienne des postes a pour politique de mener une juste concurrence, de veiller à ce que ses pratiques de marketing et de concurrence satisfassent aux besoins de ses clients et de respecter toutes les dispositions législatives applicables.

Philosophie d'achat

En tant qu'importante entreprise canadienne, la Société a un objectif précis: fournir à la population du Canada le service postal le plus fiable, le plus rentable et le plus accessible. Sa politique d'approvisionnement est également fort simple, fondée sur la conviction que la capacité des fournisseurs à contribuer à la réalisation de ses objectifs est proportionnelle à leur compréhension des orientations commerciales et des méthodes d'approvisionnement de la Société.

Nous sommes conscients de l'importance du rôle que jouent nos fournisseurs dans le fonctionnement de l'entreprise et nous avons compris que les rapports harmonieux reposent sur la fiabilité et le respect mutuel.

Pratiques d'achat

La Société canadienne des postes a pour politique d'octroyer des contrats de biens et de services de manière à obtenir, dans l'ensemble, le meilleur rapport qualité-prix. Elle fait affaire avec les fournisseurs qui satisfont à ses objectifs, c'est-à-dire l'acquisition de produits et de services de qualité au moment opportun, le respect des spécifications et des prix concurrentiels.

Par principe, elle négocie les contrats d'approvisionnement en tenant compte des lois, des règlements, des accords et des conventions internationaux pertinents et de ses propres politiques, et elle utilise un procédé d'appel d'offres concurrentiel. Elle veut ainsi véhiculer l'image d'une entreprise dont les normes de professionnalisme sont élevées et qui préconise la pratique loyale des affaires.

Durant tout le processus de négociation des approvisionnements, la Société canadienne des postes:

  1. établira et entretiendra des relations commerciales productives avec les fournisseurs qui, comme elle, s'engagent à fournir à ses clients des produits et des services de qualité, et dont la recherche de l'excellence se reflète dans les relations avec la Société;
  2. montrera la valeur qu'elle accorde à de telles relations commerciales avec ses fournisseurs en continuant d'agir, dans tous les aspects de ses démarches avec eux, conformément aux normes de professionnalisme et avec toute la probité qu'elle préconise.

À titre de société d'État, la Société canadienne des postes doit négocier ses contrats d'approvisionnement en tenant compte des exigences de l'Accord de libre-échange nord-américain (ALENA) et de l'Accord sur le commerce intérieur (ACI). Les achats qui sont assujettis à l'ALENA et à l'ACI sont publiés par l'entremise de MERX. Les documents d'appel d'offres relatifs à des achats de produits et de services assujettis à l'ALENA et à l'ACI doivent être commandés par le biais de MERX. Par ailleurs, consultez la section Débouchés d'affaires pour connaître les détails de Services de contrats de transport.

Sélection des fournisseurs

Pour l'achat de produits et de services non assujettis à l'ALENA, les demandes peuvent être publiées par l'entremise de MERX ou la SCP peut choisir ses fournisseurs en se fiant à son expérience passée, à partir des annuaires de l'industrie ou d'Internet, en consultant des sources de renseignements de l'industrie ou d'associations, y compris catalogues et journaux, ou lors de foires commerciales et de conférences.

Dépouillement des soumissions

Nous ne préconisons pas le dépouillement public des soumissions ni ne révélons à quiconque les renseignements qu'elles contiennent, sauf si nous sommes tenus de le faire en vertu de l'ALENA ou de la loi. Nous croyons fermement que le dépouillement public des soumissions va à l'encontre des principes de l'équité et de la concurrence sur lesquels reposent les activités commerciales de la SCP.

Octroi des contrats

Tous les contrats sont octroyés par la Gestion de l'approvisionnement de PostesCanada, après le procédé officiel d'évaluation des soumissions. Au moins un fournisseur qui répond le mieux à nos besoins généraux sera invité à négocier avec nous, ce qui pourrait mener à l'élaboration d'un contrat officiel.

Les utilisateurs finaux ne sont pas autorisés à conduire des ententes avec les fournisseurs. Ces derniers ne doivent fournir aucun produit ou service avant qu'un contrat soit signé ou une commande passée, et ils ne doivent exécuter aucune tâche qui va au-delà de ce qui est stipulé dans le contrat existant.

Conclusion

La Gestion de l'approvisionnement de PostesCanada apprécie à leur juste valeur les relations privilégiées qui existent entre la Société canadienne des postes et ses fournisseurs. Plus particulièrement, nous accueillons favorablement toute initiative qui contribue à l'accroissement de la productivité et à une bonne gestion de l'approvisionnement. Nous sommes toujours prêts à discuter avec eux des moyens d'innover et d'améliorer le rendement ou de la possibilité de réduire les coûts si ces démarches nous aident à atteindre notre objectif d'offrir des services fiables et avantageux à la population canadienne.

Contacts relatifs au procédé d'adjudication:

Pour obtenir des renseignements sur l'ALENA:
Affaires étrangères et Commerce international Canada
Services d'information
Édifice Lester B. Pearson
125, prom. Sussex
Ottawa (Ontario) K1A 0G2
Node téléphone: 1800267-8376
Ottawa seulement: 944-4000

MERX (système Internet)
Pour de plus amples renseignements ou pour s'abonner:
1800964-6379 de 8h à 18h, heure normale de l'Est (du lundi au vendredi)
Télécopie: 1888235-5800.